Vandervoort's General Store

Shirley Gibson-Langille


was constructed in 1820 as a Coffee-house stop for stage coaches travelling between Toronto and Montreal. In the 1840s, the building housed a Military Hospital. Until 1868, the long wing at back of store was the Princess Street Grammar School. In 1888, the Elliott Brothers took over. In 1947 Harry and Claude Vandervoort bought the store. several years later their nephew Dean Vandervoort , his sister and her husband Lois and Cliff Card. When Dean died his shares were sold to remaining partners. In 1983 Bill Dalton took over. In 202l, Bill retired. On October 7th 2021, the Antique Emporium moved into the building.

About the artist:

Shirley Gibson-Langille was born in Toronto, but now calls Kingston home, where she is very active in the arts scene. As a Romantic Painter, Shirley works on location, taking the time to connect with her subject, always with a feeling of joy for the love of things just as they are!   

Over the past many years, Shirley has given and continues to give her artists’ perspective to so many of the unique nooks and crannies of Kingston, as well as the other special locations she captures in her work.

Shirley specializes in Portraits of homes and businesses.

Share this Product